top of page
  • Writer's pictureFalconer

Interview - What do the inscriptions really mean?

Interview with the award winning author SK Falconer.

Crime Book The Demon Mark - SK Falconer

The Demon Mark follows a police inspector into a religious town that’s overrun by fear where a murder mystery hides dark secrets. How did you come up with the idea behind this novel?

The idea started with the historical research that I did for the novel. I was intrigued by the protective marks that were often placed on buildings and other structures to ward off evil, and that was the genesis of the idea behind The Demon Mark. What do the inscriptions really mean? What are the marks meant to do, and can they be turned to be used for evil purpose? These all the questions that ran through my mind as I began writing the novel.

This is book two in your Cormag MacLeod Police Inspector Series. What were some new ways you wanted to test Cormag in this book that was different from book one?

Macleod’s major test is dealing with his own past. He is a complex multilayered character, with so much guilt that he carries with him, effectively haunted by the past both in thoughts and visions. I wanted the challenge for him in this novel to be an agent for his own redemption, to forgive himself, and to be able to let go of the past so that he could begin living again.

I appreciated the well placed use of history throughout your story. Was this instrumental to your story or was this something that just fascinates you?

I have a connection in that my great grandmother ran an inn in the 1800s in the region.

There is so many stories available from surviving family members that detail the rich history of the area and the history of the region is an integral part of this story. While the story is written as primarily a crime mystery, my purpose is also to make readers familiar with the history of the area, the lives of the people and how they lived.

What can readers expect in book three of your Cormag MacLeod Police Inspector Series?

Paterson’s Curse is the title of the new book, and it follows MacLeod as he investigates a series of murders in the nearby town of Paterson. Plenty of twists and turns in this one, a dark undercurrent of witchcraft, as Macleod battles his own demons as he races against time. This one will keep you guessing until the end.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page